Buccaneers notch win against Bossier Parish, 88-70

BRENHAM, Texas — Alexus Brigham tallied a season-high 27 points to lead Blinn College women's basketball (8-9, 2-4) to an 88-70 win against Bossier Parish Community College on Wednesday night in the Kruse Center on Student Appreciation Night.

"It has been a long time since we have scored like that to open a game and it makes things a lot easier," said Jeff Jenkins, Blinn head coach. "It is nice to come out at home and play really well because our crowd is unbelievable. It was the best win we have had so far this year, so I am proud of them."       

Kristine Ezimako (18 points), Missy Archie (17 points) and Imani Wimbish-Gay (11 points) joined Brigham in the double-digit points category.

"I came out tonight with a different mindset and throughout the game I started driving, finding my open shot and finding my teammates," Brigham said. "It was a team effort and we always talk about teamwork, so this was a good win."

The Buccaneers racked up 27 points in the opening quarter and held the lead for the remainder of the game. Brigham, Wimbish-Gay and Archie led the offensive charge in the first quarter, combining for 20 points. An 8-0 run in the second quarter, finished off by a three-point basket by Mariel Wade, pulled Blinn ahead 43-26. The Buccaneers went into the break with a 48-28 lead.

"Tonight we really wanted to win, so all had the mindset to start out really hard," Archie said. "We want to stay focused and keep fighting for wins."

Blinn kept the momentum in the third quarter, tallying 29 points. Five straight free throw shots put Blinn ahead 73-41. Brigham tacked on the last four points of the quarter with two layups for the Buccaneers to lead 77-45 entering the final stretch. Brigham led Blinn with seven points through the final quarter, sinking a shot from downtown and a duo of two-pointers.

Next, the Buccaneers will travel to face Jacksonville College on Saturday, Jan. 19, at 2 p.m.  

Blinn has competed in intercollegiate athletics since 1903 and captured 38 NJCAA national championships since 1987.