Buccaneers down Beyond Basketball in season opener, 115-89

BRENHAM, Texas — The Blinn College men's basketball team (1-0) started the season on the right foot by defeating Beyond Basketball, 115-89, on Friday night in the Kruse Center.

"It is always good when you win the first game and I am happy that everybody got to play a lot of minutes," said Scott Schumacher, Blinn head coach. "Everybody played really well tonight and they deserved that win."

Azariah Seay led the Buccaneers with 21 points, while AJ Rainey followed with 14, Cardell McGee scored 11, Bonke Maring tallied 10, and Markus Vallien and Pedro Castro each chipped in nine.

"I went out there wanting to compete as hard as I could and really was excited to show everyone what I can do as a player," Seay said. "We have a great connection as a team on and off the court, and it is a great feeling to get the first win."

Seay led the Buccaneers through the first half with 19 points for Blinn to hold a 59-37 advantage at the half. Seay scored seven points early in the game for Blinn to pull ahead 13-8 and hold onto the lead for the remainder of the game. The Buccaneers gained momentum as they went on a 9-0 run to stay ahead 22-8. Ryan Pollard kept things rolling, scoring five straight points for Blinn to lead 29-15. With less than seven minutes remaining in the first half, Vallien scored a three-pointer for Blinn to lead 40-21. Seay scored seven of Blinn's final eight points for the Buccaneers to hold a 22-point lead at the halfway mark.

In the second half. Rainey and Maring each led Blinn with 10 points apiece. Rainey hit two three-pointers for Blinn to stay ahead 75-48. By the five-minute mark, Blinn had built a 106-73 lead. Nicholas Statz led the Buccaneers on an 8-0 run with a two-pointer and two free throws for Blinn to pull ahead 114-85. Jacob Paske scored the final point of the game on a free throw for the 26-point win.

Next, Blinn will host Lone Star College-Cy Fair on Monday, November 4, at 7 p.m.

Blinn has competed in intercollegiate athletics since 1903 and captured 41 NJCAA national championships since 1987.