Blinn names 109 student athletes to Spring 2018 athletic director’s honor roll

Blinn College has named 109 student-athletes to the Spring 2018 Don Wilhelm Athletic Director's Honor Roll.

To be eligible, student-athletes must post a 3.0 or better grade point average (GPA) and pass a minimum of 12 credit hours of college-level courses. Out of 320 athletes, 34 percent made the honor roll.

Eighteen students achieved a perfect 4.0 grade point average: baseball players Cody Collins, Mason Michalec, Bryce Miller, Armando Sanchez, Judson Schaper, Kyle Sweeney, and Cody Van Cleave; softball players Chelsea Armendariz, Calli Birch, Sarah Cedillo, Lauren Coerver, Daelyn Hedger, and Emily Noah; cheerleaders Ashlyn Beard and Alyssa Gabrillo; dance team members Kaytlyn Collier and Madeline Jones; and volleyball player Claire Chapman. The softball team led all Blinn athletic programs with a 3.40 GPA, and the women's basketball and baseball teams each maintained a 3.16 GPA.

Baseball had the most honor roll students with 27.

"Our student-athletes continue to excel in the classroom thanks to hard work and a commitment to academic achievement," said Scott Schumacher, athletic director. "Our coaches and athletic staff are proud of the time and effort our student-athletes have dedicated, and I am pleased to congratulate each student-athlete who has earned a place on the honor roll."

The honor roll is named after former Blinn Athletic Director Don Wilhelm, an NJCAA Hall of Famer who served the College for 10 years.

Here is the complete list of Spring 2018 honor roll student athletes:


Andrew Adroin, Brice Armistead, Brandon Ashy, Henry Bird, Sammy Blair  , Zachary Cherry, Cody Collins, Koby Collins, Cameron Gibbons, Tyler Henson, Kevin House, Kasey Kalich, Jackson Leath, Craig Mattes, Mason Michalec, Jacob Millender, Bryce Miller, Andrew Morgan, Armando Sanchez, Judson Schaper, Marshall Skinner, Zachary Smith, Kyle Sweeney, Matthew Swick, Cody Van Cleave, Blake Winkelmann, and Kade Woods.


Victoria Alvarez-Lopez, Chelsea Armendariz, Calli Birch, Kamryn Boucher, Sarah Cedillo, Lauren Coerver, Maria Garcia, Gabriela Gomez, Georgina Gonzales, Morgan Gray, Daelyn Hedger, Darby Jones, Amber Langston, Meghan Morris, Emily Noah, Courtney Ogle, Abby Olejniczak, and Alivia Villarreal.


Babatunde Ajayi, Michael Gayden, Jaylan Hill, Zechariah Hopkins, David Lucas, Colten Menges, Isaac Nation, Rhett Read, Gavin Sharp, Garrison Tullos, Nicholas White, Grant Williams, and Leland Young.

CHEER (12)

Ashlyn Beard, Ashley Caballero, Summer Foley, Sierra Frailey, Alyssa Gabrillo, Marina Guerrero, Erykah Jackson, Kenzie Kluge, Madison Looney, Grace Meaux, Marcus Rias, and Camryn Ward.


Armani Anderson, Taryn Archis, Sable Barnes, Rayanna Carter, Skylah Hawkins, Aaliyah Holmes, Kayla Konarik, Jade Rochelle, Alanna Spencer, Kyler Wyatt, and Alexus Wykoff.


Samantha Boatman, Claire Chapman, Julia Fritz, Darian Ibarra, Kylee Kaaihue, Maria Morris, Hannah Ness, Shelby Sheets, Cheyenne Te'O, and Mallory Vargas.

DANCE (10)

Laura Amaro, Halle Braswell, Jessica Brown, Stephanie Brown, Briana Burton, Kaytlyn Collier, Caelie Fisher, Carlan Hearn, Madeline Jones, and Sydnee Tower.


Kaeron Baker, Bradley George, Antione Lister, Adeajani Sanni, and Nicolas Tata.


Ashlynn Patten, Ramona Torres, and Matthew Williams.

Blinn has competed in intercollegiate athletics since 1903 and captured 38 NJCAA national championships since 1987.