Blinn names 93 student athletes to athletic director’s honor roll

Blinn College has named 93 student athletes to the Fall 2017 Don Wilhelm Athletic Director's Honor Roll.

To be eligible, student athletes must post a 3.0 or better grade point average (GPA) and pass a minimum of 12 credit hours of college-level courses. Out of 294 student athletes, 32 percent made the honor roll.

Ten student athletes achieved a perfect 4.0 grade point average: football players David Lucas and Rhett Read; softball players Calli Birch and Lauren Coerver; cheerleader Ashlyn Beard; dance team member Laura Amaro; and baseball players Cody Collins, Bryce Miller, Andrew Morgan and Kyle Sweeny. The softball team led all Blinn athletic programs with a 3.04 GPA, and the women's basketball team had a 3.02 GPA.

Baseball had most honor roll students with 22, followed by 20 members of the football team.

"I would like to congratulate each student athlete named to the honor roll on their exceptional classroom achievement," Athletic Director Scott Schumacher said. "Achieving these GPAs demonstrates the same commitment and work ethic that these student athletes  have on the court or on the field. Blinn College's coaches and athletic staff couldn't be more proud to support these young men and women in their accomplishments."

The honor roll is named after former Blinn Athletic Director Don Wilhelm, an NJCAA Hall of Famer who served the College for 10 years.

Here is the complete list of Fall 2017 honor roll student athletes:


Andrew Adroin, Brice Armistead, Brandon Ashy, Henry Bird, Samuel Blair, Cody Collins, Koby Collins, Ryan Day, Cameron Draehn, Cameron Gibbons, William James, Jackson Leath, Mason Michalec, Jacob Millender, Bryce Miller, Jacob Miller, Andrew Morgan, Marshall Skinner, Kyle Sweeney, Matthew Swick, Cody Van Cleave and Kade Woods.


Brett Bridges, Vonte Davis, Michael Garrett, Michael Gayden, Dominque Harrison, Austin Hibbits, Braden Hucks, Antwuan Jackson, David Lucas, Rhett Read, Deldric Shields, Eugene Shorter, Steven          Taylor, Chadwick Thibodeaux, Garrison Tullos, John Waisath, Cullen Wick, Grant Williams, Taje Williams and Clayton Woods. 


Amy Alexander, Chelsea Armendariz, Calli Birch, Sarah Cedillo, Lauren Coerver, Georgina Gonzales, Daelyn Hedger, Amber Langston, Meghan Morris, Courntey Ogle, Abby Olejniczak and Alivia Villarreal.


Armani Anderson, Sable Barnes, Rayanna Carter, Skylah Hawkins, Jade Rochelle, I'Munique Shelton, Kyler Wyatt, and Alexus Wykoff.


Faith Allen, Ashlyn Beard, Luis Chapa, Summer Foley, Alyssa Gabrillo, Allyson Jacobs, Jarred Pecina, and Madison Schmidt.


Laura Amaro, Halle Braswell, Jessica Brown, Stephanie Brown, Kaytlyn Collier, Keyundra Irby, Madeline Jones and Taylor Lucio.


Mikayla Adam, Claire Chapman, Julia Fritz, Darian Ibarra, Kylee Kaaihue, Kayla Valigura and Mallory Vargas.


Kae'ron Baker, Johnathan Brown, Bradley George, Tony Lewis, Antione Lister, and Garrett Savant.


Avery Henderson and Ashlynn Patten.

Blinn has competed in intercollegiate athletics since 1903 and captured 36 NJCAA national championships since 1987.