Leroy Dreyer named Blinn College’s Buccaneer Backer of the Year

Former Blinn College Athletic Director Leroy Dreyer recently was presented the fourth annual Buccaneer Backer of the Year Award in recognition of his continued commitment to Buccaneer athletics.

"I am very honored because I think about Blinn athletics every day, and am very proud of all of our athletic teams and the entire athletic department," Dreyer said.

Athletic Director Scott Schumacher honored Dreyer with the award prior to the tournament.

Dreyer served as Blinn College's athletic director for 36 years, while also serving as the head football, baseball, and basketball coach during his career. For 27 years, Dreyer was the Buccaneers' head baseball coach, compiling a 653-249 (.724) record and leading five teams to the NJCAA World Series. Dreyer was inducted into the American Baseball Coaches Hall of Fame this year, the highest honor for a baseball coach. Dreyer has also been inducted into the NJCAA Baseball Coaches Hall of Fame, the NJCAA Football Hall of Fame and the Blinn College Hall of Honor.

"Leroy is a junior college athletics legend," Schumacher said. "He is always there for the coaches and the players, he gives us advice when we ask for it, and he is a tremendous supporter for all of Blinn College and Blinn College athletics."

Previous Buccaneer Backer of the Year Award winners include former Texas Speaker of the House Gus Mutscher, Biology Professor Karen Killion, and former Athletic Director Don Wilhelm.

The Buccaneer Backer Club was formed to raise financial support and awareness for all athletic programs at Blinn College. A modest contribution of $100 helps the Buccaneer Backers provide aid in funding postseason travel, equipment and facility upgrades. Last season, the Buccaneers won cheer and dance championships. The volleyball team placed seventh at nationals and the women's basketball team reached the Sweet 16 at the Division I National Championships.

Blinn has competed in intercollegiate athletics since 1903 and captured 36 NJCAA national championships since 1987.